Disney and the Seven Deadly Sins

Disney Gets Sinful by Krysta Fitzpatrick

As someone who has always been fascinated by Christianity's "Sevent Deadly Sins" I decided, for my project, to examine some Disney bad guys and how they measure up to the Seven Deadly Sins. For those of you unfamiliar with the sins, the Seven Deadly Sins, also known as the Capital Vices or Cardinal Sins, is a classification of the most objectionable vices that has been used since early Christian times to educate and instruct followers concerning (immoral) fallen humanity's tendency to sin. The final version of the list consists of wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony.

Basic Definitions:
Lust: a craving for sexual intimacy, sometimes to the point of assuming a self-indulgent character. Lust, or a desire for the flesh of another, is considered a sin in the three major Abrahamic religions when indulged outside of marriage.
Pride: sometimes viewed as excessive or as a vice, sometimes as proper or as a virtue. While some philosophers such as Aristotle (and George Bernard Shaw) consider pride a profound virtue, most world religions consider it a sin.
Greed: an inordinate desire to acquire or possess more than one needs or deserves, especially with respect to material wealth.
Envy: a universal and most unfortunate aspect of human nature because not only is the envious person rendered unhappy by his envy, but also wishes to inflict misfortune on others.
vengeance upon one who has not deserved it, or to a greater extent than it has been deserved, or in conflict with the dispositions of law, or from an improper motive.
Sloth: spiritual or emotional apathy, neglecting what God has spoken, and being physically and emotionally inactive.
Gluttony: over-indulgence and over-consumption.

The links along the top represent each Deadly Sin and inside you will find 1) A series of Disney villains that I believe truly capture this sin, 2) Video clips that show you why I believe this particular villain personifies that sin, and 3) The opinions of some Disney critics on these topics. So what exactly is the religious point of representing the Seven Deadly Sins through these Disney villains
? All the villains on this page represent various sins and the consequences of committing those sins. All the Disney villains ultimately meet a terrible end because of their obsessions with lust, greed, envy, wrath, pride, gluttony or sloth. The moral is if you let your life revolve around sin you will eventually be doomed. Enjoy experiencing the sinful side of Disney!

    Contact Form